Week 46: Rustic

Roast Chicken Dinner

A roast chicken dinner feels like the perfect rustic meal to me. On a recent frosty Saturday, travel-mug of tea in hand, I ventured to the Vancouver Winter Farmer’s Market to get ingredients for my rustic dinner.

I started with organic, free-range, super awesome chicken from a local producer.

Week 46_1And these adorable little roaster onions. They’re almost too cute to eat! Almost.

Week 46_2I simply roasted the chicken, seasoned with salt and pepper, with onions and potatoes in my Mom’s old roasting pan. To prepare the chicken I took some pointers from Thomas Keller’s technique. (I didn’t truss it because I don’t have any string. Who owns string!?)

Week 46_3

Now that’s rustic!

Week 46_4

Once roasted, I took the chicken out of the pan to rest and set the potatoes aside. I rescued a few of the onions for serving, and left a few with the pan juices to make a gravy.

Week 46_5

This is one of the most gorgeous meals I’ve made all year. I’ll take simple, rustic, and delicious anytime. Roast chicken and potatoes with homemade gravy, and organic spinach salad with mandarin orange slices, caramelized onions, and balsamic vinaigrette.

Week 46_6

 

 

Leave a comment