Week 13: Potatoes

Vij’s Turmeric Potatoes

One day I hope to travel to India. For now, I’ll have to satisfy my culinary travel bug with the talents of chef Vikram Vij.

The Turmeric New Potato Recipe from Vij’s: Elegant & Inspired Indian Cuisine is one of my favourite potato recipes. The potatoes are flavourful and tender, and make a great side dish instead of rice or noodles.

To begin, onion is fried in oil. Then the spices – turmeric, cayenne, and salt – are added and fried, followed by the potatoes and a bit of water to steam them. I used red potatoes because I had them on hand, but thin-skinned, slightly sweet new potatoes sliced thin work best in this recipe. Despite the bold flavours, this is still unmistakably a potato dish.

The potatoes are a delicious week night treat – almost as delicious as popping over to Rangoli for dinner!

Potatoes - sliced thin using a mandolin

Potatoes – sliced thin using a mandolin

Sizzline onions, turmeric, cayenne, and salt

Sizzline onions, turmeric, cayenne, and salt

Vij's Turmeric Potatoes

Vij’s Turmeric Potatoes

Leave a comment